Miguel ….the new Prince formerly known as PRINCE

Some would say that my taste in music is ‘limited’ well my ear is addicted to quality! That’s the easiest way to describe it! I am really on this Frank Ocean hype! ‘i’ can marry his voice..it took me a while to get on his band wagon, the first song of his I listened to was ‘Swim Good’ off Nostalgia Ultra.  I was not blown away but then I introduced myself to the Lonny Breaux Collection.  I cant express the feeling I get from the Songs  ‘Ready’ and ‘Acura Integurl’  ….that’s when I understood exactly what Frank Ocean was all about! I was able to go back and appreciate Nostalgia Ultra.

Ok! Back to the point of this post ( I tend to easily go off on a Tangent!) So back to my impeccable  taste of music…MIGUEL! he came with a bang and has this sensual intensity….has the sexual vibe MUCH LIKE PRINCE! Prince is what a friend of mine would call ‘Ubersexual’ its not so much the appearance but its the way in which he carries himself. Miguel, much like Prince is not the best looking guy but the way in which his music speaks to women makes him a whole more load attractive….because its an attraction to the being…the soul…not the physical aspect! Miguel first came out with ‘Sure thing’ that got everyone to utter the words ‘Love you like a brother Treat you like a friend Respect you like a lover!’ ….and let me tell you that song is not getting old AT ALL.

However, when I heard ‘Girls like you’ and he sampled No Doubts  ‘Don’t Speak’ in the first verse I knew that Miguel had arrived….and he is here to change Music. One would say that Prince would never sample but ‘be sampled’ ….but its the abstractness and unexpectedness of this sample that blew me away! I  think some would say my argument is not compelling enough….but I don’t feel like it has to be…Miguel’s music speaks for its self …..’I don’t wanna be loved
I don’t wanna be loved I just wanna quickie No bite marks, no scratches, and no hickeys If you can get with that, mami come get with me’

Leave a Reply

