The BOYZ that make me WONDER…..

I was going through that mythical phase ‘ writer’s block’…..I can confirm its real..very real! I was also taking time to actually live my life…I do have one besides this blog. I am always trying to find inspiration about what to write, so that I ‘write from my heart’ *insert dramatic voice* I was having one of the those days where all I wanted to listen to was Stevie and Boyz II men!  I LOVE THEM

Both are products of Motown Records, set up by the legendary Berry Gordy Jnr. A lot of us, owe so much to him and Motown, this is the Label that gave us the Jacksons 5, Diana Ross, Smokey Robinson, The Temptations, Brian Mcknight….the list is Endless and Music …Timeless. So Lemme appreciate Stevie and the Boyz separately.

This is not in order of preference….I can’t choose between the two..

63 year Old Stevland Hardaway Judkins a Rock n Roll hall of Fame inductee (1989), is one of the greatest entertainers of all time, with his powerful vocals, insane skills on the piano and a vast number of other instruments and his admirable triumph over tragedy. Stevie was born premature by about 6 weeks and the nerves to his eyes had not fully developed, hence his inability to see. They say that when you lose one sense the others become more powerful, if it is true DAMN his voice seem to receive all the surplus power.

Stevie was signed to Motown at the tender age of 11! This is how he acquired the name ‘wonder’ as he was a boy wonder….’the eigth wonder of the world’ as they liked to call him but that was too long.

He has recorded more than thirty U.S. top ten hits and received twenty-two Grammy Awards, the most ever awarded to a male solo artist. I actually try to look for a Stevie Wonder Song that I don’t know! Its hard…I LOVE THIS MAN! I think that my all time favorite song ‘Isn’t she Lovely’. This was inspired by the birth of his daughter Aisha Morris in 1975

‘isn’t she lovely/isn’t she wonderful….’

Stevie Wonder was Motown’s golden child. In his more than 30 years at Motown, Wonder has been a musical icon: first, as a child prodigy; second, as a young man with a soulful, maturing and multifaceted talent; and finally, as an adult driven by the challenge of realizing his ever-deepening inner visions.Stevie has some many precious classics such as  Mon Cherie Amour, Part- Time lovers, I just called to say I love you! Still making music now, feauturing on Drake’s Latest Album Take Care, on the song ‘Doing it Wrong’ playing the Harmonica.

One of the Songs I love is Knock you off your feet and Donell Jones did an amazing cover in the early 90′s.

Stevie is an Icon!

The quartet from Philly, are what I would consider today’s version of The Temptations, in terms of the endless classic songs, the gentleman kind of demeanour and success. This successful group was mentored by New Edition member, Michael Bevin and was signed to Motown in 1990. The group trufully catipalted to success in 1992 with classic ‘End of the Road‘, written by L. A Reid and Babyface. “End of the Road” would set a new record for longevity, staying at number 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 for 13 weeks, breaking a decades-old record held by Elvis Presley.

Boyz II Men would go on to  exceed  that record later in the decade with hits “I’ll Make Love to You” and “One Sweet Day” (with Mariah Carey), which each exceeded records for the longest period of time a single remained at number 1. As of 2010, “One Sweet Day” still holds the all-time record with 16 weeks at the top of the Hot 100. On top of all this success, The group has sold over 60 Million records wild wide and four grammies, with such credentials…Boyz II Men is  the most successful R&B group of all time.

With 10 albums under their belt Boyz II Men is proving that success is inevitable with epicable talent! In 2009 they released Love, a tribute the greatest love songs of all time, including Stevie wonder’s ‘Ribbon in the sky’

My All time favs are ‘End of the road’, ‘I’ll make love to you’, ‘Put some music on’ off their new album ‘Twenty’. I would love to thank them for twenty years of INCREDIBLE songs on epical measures.

Leave a Reply

