‘You weren’t in your ZONE’

Kanye west coined that now infamous line ‘….don’t let me get into my zone…I am definitely in my zone’….personally I didn’t think he was in his Zone on this Watch The Throne album ..key word is PERSONALLY..hear me out before you close this page and reference me as a ‘bitch!’

20120917-124616.jpg

Watch the Throne is a collaborative studio album by the infamous duo and long time friends Jay-Z and Kanye West, released on August 8, 2011, by Roc-A-Fella Records, Roc Nation, and Def Jam Recordings. The long time friends originally sought out to record a 5 song EP together, but the project eventually evolved into a full length album. Recording sessions for the album took place at various recording locations and began in November 2010. The album was produced  by industry  beasts – Kanye West, 88 Keys, RZA, Swizz Beatz, Jeff Bhasker, and Mike Dean, among others.

The album was nominated for four Grammy Awards including Best Rap Album, with single “Otis” receiving Best Rap Performance.The album debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 436,000 copies its first week which is a bit of a downgrade from the 500,000-start that some industry pundits had predicted. Despite that fact, the album had been certified platinum , as of June 2012, has sold 1,540,000 copies in the United States.

On Watch the Throne, we have Kanye Omari West who is a creative maverick and Shawn Corey Carter who is a “lyrical genius” (so they say! Never been too crazy about him!) joining forces to create one album…two heads are said to be greater than one! You have two individuals who are well established in their genres; creatively, lyrically and have formed Idiosyncrasies that have made them GREAT and cannot be imitated!

20120917-132737.jpg

With that being said … Watch The Throne was a good album!…it should have been great!…I believe it should have been a mixtape…if so, it would have been the greatest mixtape that there ever was!

I have a been a Kanye fan since I heard ‘Through the wire’ off his College Dropout album. Personally, I feel that he has never topped this album, with it’s unpretentious lyrical content and subtle yet distinctly creative artistry, this Album was the shit! I felt that hunger on this album, Kanye wanted to make it and you could hear the dedication to this album on each track and he wanted to come in the game and stay! If no one knew Mr West then…they knew him after he hit us with College Dropout

Despite the synergy on the album it felt like a Kanye album featuring Jay-Z! After My beautiful dark twisted fantasy this was almost expected from Kanye west but felt very unconventional on Jay-Z’s part and not in a good way…this was the first time he didn’t feel like thatBrooklyn boy with 99 problems he was definitely on that Kanye flow talking about the finer things in life as well as his success in life and within the music industry. I know his life has changed by his lyrics always had that little Brooklyn boy hiding in them. It felt like since Kanye could never deliver lyrically like Jay could, Ye took over the creative aspect of the album and Jay took direction from Ye!

As I mentioned earlier the dynamic duo sold over 400,000 copies in their first week, another Mr Carter sold that in his first day in June 2008 with the highly anticipated The Carter III!! What world are we living in were we compare Lil’ Wayne to Ye and Jay! The duo have been working together since 2000 and chemistry was apparent on this album but when I think and listen to Never let me down off College Dropout I don’t feel like there was any song on WTT that was as timeless as that one!

2 minutes of silence on ‘illest motherf&*ker alive was simply inane! The two were simply showing off…I can’t tell u how I freaked out thinking my speakers died…it was such a cocky move which I found comedic! It shows you how BAWS them two are…to have such freedom on an album NOT a mixtape…shows that (as Kanye would say) ‘you can’t tell ’em nothing’

My top tracks on this album are: Niggas in Paris, No church in the wild with the uber talented Frank Ocean, HAM , That’s my Bitch,Tracks like Murder to Excellence, Lift off, Otis and Why I Love you are the kind of songs that you listen to depending on your mood! These are all GOOD tracks…I was hungry for some great music .

20120917-184317.jpg

Before I even knew WTT 2 was coming out next year..I thought that WTT would have been a mixtape and then hit us with the real shit! That deep shit! that will leave us satiated! They need to go back to basics because most people who do these collaborative albums are people from different genres such a Damian Marley and Nas on Distant Relatives, now that they both Rap/HipHop artists the pressure to deliver is more intense! This is when attention to the intricate detail counts and chemistry isn’t enough! I wish that WTT was simply a preview of what was yet to come and build up anticipation for part II! I am really digging the latest track from the duo featuring Big Sean Clique! If the two take this direction and deliver on WTT 2 like this…then am excited! Let’s wait and see!

Yes! The numbers don’t lie…each show they had was sold out but look at the copies sold! I believe more people went to see Jay-z and Kanye more than they wanted to listen to tracks off that album! LET’S BE REAL!

20120917-190813.jpg

I cannot wait for WTT 2, I am very curious as to what these two talented individuals are going to present! I am expecting the worst and hoping for the best to save myself from disappointment! I pray for an elevation in quality of artistry in this album! And just to make it clear I still love myself some Kanye …I think he is extremely talented and I believe he is cocky because he has the right to be!

20120917-190726.jpg

Leave a Reply

